London 2012: Four Years On

 

I keep crying. That in itself is nothing new but this time I can’t stop and it’s often long streaming tears, sometimes sobs. Has it broken me? Has London 2012 broken me? No, not in the slightest. If anything, it’s made me.

I wasn’t a sporty person before the games. I didn’t really watch much and I definetly didn’t play anything. But I was patriotic and the games was the greatest display of our country I’ve ever seen.

I got to celebrate all the things that make Britain great, from the incredible opening ceremony, to the inspiring athletes and the amazing games makers.

I got to see what a person can do when they really set their mind to something. I got to see when dreams really do come true.

The games made me feel proud, proud to be British. The greatest show on earth came to town and we put our mark all over it.

I watched more sport that summer than in most of my adult life and whats more surprising, I loved it.

I loved learning about different sports and the people that made them great. I loved the underdogs and the favourites, the surprises and the sure things.

I loved Victoria Pendleton, Katherine Grainger and Gemma Gibbons.

Jonnie Peacock, Hannah Cockroft and David Weir.

Tom Daley, Louis Smith and Andy Murray.

Laura Trott, Bradley Wiggins and Sir Chris Hoy.

Sarah Storey, Richard Whitehead and Ellie Simmonds.

Stan Louloudis, Rebecca Adlington and the Brownlee brothers.

Mo Farah, Greg Rutherford and Jess Ennis.

I loved the national anthem, Union Jacks and gold post boxes. Inspiring stories and coming together as a nation. I loved being British.

I never wanted it to end. Everyone was happy and cheerful. There was a buzz and excitement in the air. We put the Great back into Great Britain.

The summer of 2012 changed my life. It shaped me into the person I am today and who I will be for as long as I live. You might ask how sport can do such a thing, I certainly would of before but now I can’t imagine any different. It’s like there is my life before the games and my life after the games and the latter is far richer and for that, London 2012 will always have a special place in my heart.

Who knows if anything will ever top London 2012 or what will happen over the coming weeks but one thing’s for sure, I’m ready for it.

Bring on Rio, Bring on the Great.

IMG_8533
My very own Jess Ennis.
I'd love to hear what you thought of the post! Go on, leave a comment, you know you want to...

