And The Oscar Goes To…

I know I’ve mentioned before that The Oscars are a pretty big deal in the Warburton household, so much so that for the last 4 years or so, my mum and I have got up in the middle of the night to watch them live! My stress levels seem to increase with every year that I watch them and I didn’t think anything could top last years racing heart and sick to the stomach feeling of waiting for Eddie Redmayne’s name to get called  (I am a massive Eddie fan!) but oh they did! – more on that later!

This year’s ceremony was particularly hotly anticipated due to one man, Mr Leonardo Wilhelm (yes, Wilhelm!) DiCaprio. I think that you would have to have been living under a rock during this year’s award season to have missed the drama surrounding Leo and his Oscar nomination. You see it seemed like the stars might align and after 6 nominations (1 was for producing ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’), 2016 might finally be Leo’s year to walk away with converted little gold man.

As I said, I also love Mr Eddie Redmayne and he’s been a shoo in for an Oscar nod for his performance in ‘The Danish Girl’, since before he’d started filming as well as so much hype about how could do the Oscar double! Now this left this Yorkshire lass very torn and it wasn’t until Leo won the Golden Globe, back in January, and I wanted to cry (happy tears!) at his speech that I knew who I wanted to walk away with the big prize (if you haven’t guessed it was Leo!) So when you add to this one of my all time girl crushes and Leo’s bestie, Ms Kate Winslet, winning at the BAFTA’s,  I was so excited at the possibility of a Kate/Leo double that I couldn’t wait for the big night!

So, I’d made my way back up north for the occasion, had ‘midnight’ snacks organised and even an Oscars’ prediction sheet, courtesy of Studio DIY. Last year me, my mum and my mate had a spreadsheet to record all our guesses (I know, I’m so cool!) but this was much prettier!

 

Processed with VSCOcam with acg preset

Processed with VSCOcam with acg preset

We’d made the decision to get a couple of hours sleep and get up at 1.30am, however my body was clearly too excited/stressed and so woke me up at around midnight, resulting in me sitting bolt up in bed, in a cold sweat, thinking I’d overslept and missed the whole thing! Safe to say I didn’t sleep much after that, so got out of bed and went downstairs at about 1am, which unfortunately meant listening to half an hour of Alex Zane prattling on, (soz, not a fan!) I was however greeted by a little someone, who was clearly as excited as I was about the occasion and had made herself comfy on the sofa! (She looked too adorable to get angry at her!)

IMG_3187

Once Mumma Warbs joined me, post Chris Rock’s well handled opening monologue, (loved the Jada Pinkett Smith/ Rhianna’s pants line!) we finally got down to business.

Unfortunately we faced disappointment quite early on – the Kate/Leo dream was just that , however if I’m honest with myself, I think I always thought Alicia Vikander would walk away it (I just wish my brain had overruled my heart when I was making my predictions!)

The evening however quickly improved with the introduction of the snacks!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese bites were cracked out and there were also some hot chorizo topped with mashed potato, which were delish, if I do say so myself! However my sleep deprived brain took a totes poor photo, which looked too rude (and unapertising) to share!

We then moved on to what seemed like an eternity of ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ winning every technical award under the sun (don’t quite know what happened there!), and every award winners speech getting cut off by the music man (Mumma Warbs was not happy with this!)

At this point, I feel special mentions must go to Mr Sam Smith, for Best Original Song and Mr Ennio Morricone, for Best Original Score.

Pre Gaga’s performance, I thought Sam had it in the bag, post Gaga’s performance, I thought he had no chance, so for him to walk away with it, was amazing (more happy tears ensued). However his, what I imagine was well meant at the time, speech, slightly blew up once Mr Dustin Lance Black got wind of it! (Mr Smith made reference to a Sir Ian McKellen quote about no openly gay man having ever won an Oscar, DLB got angry on twitter as he’d previously won and spoke passionatly about being a gay man in his speech and it turned out Sir Ian had just been referring to the Best Actor award!) So when the lovely little Mr Morricone won for the first time after his 5th nomination, at 87 years old, beating John Williams and had a translator for his speech, the waterworks started up again!

Then the moment we’d finally been waiting for – the Best Actor award. Well the tears were rolling before it even got announced, however thankfully this year I didn’t get the racing heart and sickness! And Julianne Moore said the immortal words that the world wondered if we’d ever hear:

“And the Oscar goes to… Leonardo DiCaprio”

Well I screamed and jumped off the sofa, mum and I were in tears, the whole audience went crazy and were on their feet and it was a fair while before he even managed to speak, they were cheering for so long. (I did love how quickly he got up to the microphone to collect his award though, it was like he didn’t want to tempt fate!) Then there was Kate’s adorable reaction as he spoke and how he clearly wanted to savour every moment and use his speech for something more than just thank you’s – god knows we’d be watching reruns of it for years to come (well I certainly will be!) I also loved how he was practically the only winner who didn’t get played off stage, I think the man with the infamous stick knew he’d have the wrath of Leo fans everywhere come down on him, if he didn’t give that man his moment to speak, it was the least he deserved after waiting 23 years for the dream to finally come true.

All in all the overall show wasn’t one of my favourites (I don’t know if anything will quite top Hugh Jackman’s musical numbers from 2009 or Ellen Degeneres’ record breaking selfie and pizza sketch from 2014) but Leo’s win more than made up for it! There was lots of talk about whether ‘The Revenant’ really was his best work or if The Academy just felt that it was ‘his time’. Either way, they made one man and plenty of other people (including this Yorkshire lass) very, very happy!

Now I just need to find a new underdog to back!

(And for those who are interested I got 13 out of 24 right in my predictions, not my best year but certainly not my worst, lets see what 2017 has in store!)

I'd love to hear what you thought of the post! Go on, leave a comment, you know you want to...

