A whole new world

So the last two weeks have gone by in a bit of a blur, to put it mildly! I was hoping to write more but with the whole new job, finding a house, settling in thing, it just hasn’t been possible, so I’m going to try and sum up the highlights as best as possible.

First Day

So my first commute to work was a bit interesting as I thought I knew exactly what I was doing and then got off a stop too early, thinking I could change there and quickly found out I couldn’t! Needless to say, I’m now very well aquatinted with the fact that the Northern Line has two branches! After that slightly bumpy start, the rest of my day was lovely, after a great induction and then an all day team meeting, where I got to meet everyone I would be working with, which leads me very nicely on to…

My team

I don’t know what to say apart from they are lovely! Just a couple of things that proved this to me:

– they had left a card which everyone had signed on my desk for when I arrived.

– we took our lunches on my second day and ate them on the roof of our building (which has amazing views across London! I’ll have to get some pics next time).

– we did team pay day cupcakes from the hummingbird bakery next to where we work.

– we went out for Friday post work drinks to celebrate my first week.

Along with checking I’m ok all time time and asking if I need a hand with anything, I think I’m going to settle in quite nicely (especially after the rocky road and gluten free macaroons that I took in the following Monday to say thanks for such a great welcome, it’s safe to say my team have a sweet tooth!)

House viewings

The rest of my first week was then spent looking at houses on line and going to viewings, however thankfully I didn’t have to go to many of those, only 2 in fact, as on my first Saturday night, I got a message saying that one of my viewings had been successful and they offered me the room! To say I was happy was an understatement! Even after just a week of searching, I was starting to become a bit disillusioned that I’d find somewhere, but thankfully I did and it’s lovely!

Staying with Louisa and Martin

Finally, my first two weeks were made super comfortable by the fact that I was staying two friends, Martin and Louisa, in their lovely flat in Battersea, and I couldn’t thank them enough! Between feeding me (including prosecco!) and helping me find flats to view, they made me feel very welcome and helped enormously with the transition to London Life. (Martin was also an excellent Tour De France viewing companion, much to Louisa’s slight dismay.)

So safe to say, everything is going well and I seem to adapting to London life nicely (well I’ve managed two weeks so far!)

I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment below.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.